Photo: Kate Samp for Strategies for Children

Today we offer congratulations to the family child care providers in Massachusetts who earned accreditation or reaccreditation from the National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC) in the fourth quarter of 2012 – October 1 to December 31.

Kathy Modigliani, who runs the Bay State-based Family Child Care Project, remembers noticing the positive impact going through the accreditation process had on center-based teachers. Why not do something similar for family child care providers? Today NAFCC operates the only nationally recognized accreditation system established specifically for home-based family child care providers. Modigliani led its development between 1995 and 1999, when she was based at Wheelock College in Boston.

NAFCC accreditation has standards in five content areas: relationships, environment, developmental learning activities, safety and health, and professional and business practices.

“There have been many studies that have shown that accredited providers offer a significantly higher quality of care than others,” Modigliani notes.

In going through the accreditation process, Modigliani observes, early educators put into practice what they learn in college courses or Child Development Associate (CDA) training. “To motivate providers to put what they are learning into practice is something accreditation is important for,” she says. “I really think accreditation for both centers and homes is a critical piece in the Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS) because it assesses what is happening in the program.”

Congratulations to the 16 family child care providers in Massachusetts who earned NAFCC accreditation or reaccreditation in the third quarter of 2012:

Boston. Doris Spoor (Dorchester), Eridania Terrero (Roslindale), Laura Williams (Dorchester)
Lynn. Annette Peterson, Vanessa Ayala, Carmen Urena
Malden. Carline Jean, Claudette Jules, Francoise Gabrielle Tovar
Medford. Fatima Ouardaoui
Revere. Claudia Cardona
Salem. Mariana Santillan
Springfield. Nelida Arroyo-Torres
Worcester. Llanet Montoya, Nancy Vazquez, Claudia Villamil